Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2007-09-14 - 11:12 a.m.

1. Today I was accidentally on time, which is technically five minutes late, but fifteen to twenty minutes earlier than the rest of the week, so hurray! I just can't get out of bed in the morning and I love the local train. I like being able to sit and read awhile in the morning, I like it that everyone else are sitter readers, or else breakfast eaters, or else makeup appliers. The express is filled with thoughtless crabs, but the local is filled with daydreamers who think they're still at home. Really, I'd like to find out who the bus is filled with, but an hour late would probably be noticed.

2. The other day Fyvush Finkel was coming out of the drugstore while I was going in. It's been a long week. It's half summer and half fall, and it's nice.

3. My shoes have totally faked me out by feeling perfectly comfortable for days before remembering that new shoes have to cut into your heel for a couple of weeks so that you fully appreciate the eventual comfort and don't want to replace them with a new pair for awhile. Tough luck, shoes. I'm irretrievably chipper.

4. Also, I heard that in some places megaphones are called loudhailers, which feels like an impossible lie, but wouldn't it seem the same from the other side? I mean, if I grew up in a loudhailer town I would probably find megaphone pretty stunning. This is way better than all of that elevator versus lift junk. Elevator certainly wins.

5. I feel a bit all over the place. I saw Fidgets this morning, unexpectedly, and scowled before I had a chance to think. I guess that's that. If more people could just pop up in front of me when so completely tucked into my own head that I've forgotten there are other places, I could sort a lot of things out.

6. Somewhere outside someone has just sung the Star-Spangled Banner loudly enough that I could hear it eleven flights up through a closed window. Maybe they had a loudhailer.

7. I feel as though I've swallowed a little lump of gold.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail