Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-09-22 - 7:21 p.m.

I saw another yellow balloon through my classroom window today. That's two in less than a week. Maybe there's a place in the neighborhood that gives them out. I'll be looking through the window more than ever now.

It's the equinox. Or, at least I think it is. Actually, I always think it's on the twenty-first, but I suspect it's either today or tomorrow. I guess I always want it to be on the twenty-first. I just prefer that number. I don't care much for twenty-two or twenty-three. Anyway, I love the equinox. How could anyone not? Autumnal Equinox. It sounds so technical, but oddly comforting. Like sitting around a campfire with a robot friend.

I'm reading The Dancing Wu Li Masters. I borrowed it from my brother forever ago, but I've been resisting reading it. It's about physics, which is why I wanted to read it, but the introduction gave me the impression that the author intends the reading of it to be some sort of mystical, life-altering experience. Which, frankly, I found troubling. I didn't want him touching my soul, I just wanted to read about physics. So, I put it aside and read something else. Now that I've started it again, it seems that I was needlessly put off. I've really liked the first couple of chapters. The book isn't so much new-agey obnoxious as it is theory presented in an incredibly straightforward way. And the author clearly gets a genuine kick out of the subject matter, which is nice. It's fun to read.

I start French classes tomorrow! I'm terribly excited. Once I've mastered French, I can slip into Canada and pretend I'm one of them. Except I'm pretty sure that Canadian French is different than European French, and that the French I'll be learning is European French. So, the Canadians will know that something is amiss. Maybe I'll just stay here.

Someone told me that an octopus has three hearts. I don't know if that's true, but I like the idea of it. I'm a sap, I guess.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail