Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-02-12 - 6:03 p.m.

It would seem that someone who knows exactly what to do in a given situation wouldn't persist in doing the opposite, but I guess it's wrong to assume that things will be the way it seems they should be. Was that as terrible a sentence as I think it was? Oh well, there's no going back now, which I'm afraid is the problem... Now here I am for the second time in less than twelve hours, and if the phone doesn't ring soon, I may make another mistake.

It's time to change the subject to that of quiz night. It went swimmingly, oddly enough. Francis and I got there early, and spent a good amount of time alone, dealing with each other in a surprisingly normal way. Like friends, I'd say. It was pretty good. I think it had something to do with the fact that I was loaded with coffee, and it made me feel sort of helpless and incapable of putting up my ordinary level of resistance, which probably threw Francis off enough to make him let his guard down. He's always loved me when I'm caffeinated. I say things that make him laugh in that wonderful way where he laughs, contains himself for a second, and then falls apart all over again. I love his laugh-pause-laugh harder thing. The quiz was a pretty good one. I got all sorts of great answers right. (The Bloodhound Gang and the noble gases! Just to name two...) We were only a three person team last night, and we did well. Fourth place, narrowly missing the third place prize, which is fine because we didn't want the sandwich anyway. Mystery quiz night boy was there, and we kept smiling at each other from opposite ends of the bar, but we never talked. Maybe next time. I sort of just like smiling at him from across the room.

The phone!

...and it's not the call I wanted...but it's a pretty good one...

before - after

old | now | profile | mail