Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-03-12 - 10:03 a.m.

Some mornings, I wake up feeling too mean for the day. The sun is shining and it sounds like spring, but I'm set for a white-skied winter day. And, somehow, my teeth seem sharper than usual.

About a year ago, I decided to have long hair. When I was a little girl my hair was very nearly too long, and there was a lot of fun in that. I got about as far as my shoulder blades, but... these past couple of weeks have really been getting to me, and yesterday I decided that a haircut would make things better, so here I am four inches later, waiting for my regret to arrive. I like the haircut, but I'm starting to think that long hair and I will never meet again. It's silly to care, but it's probably also silly to use a haircut to make yourself happier, and I did that, and it sort of worked. Ack, even thinking about it is making me feel ridiculous, so I've got to stop typing about it.

So, lately I've been having the sort of dreams I'd like to spend some time in. I keep getting the feeling that if I had some more time to look around, I would find some really interesting things, and I've been in a really good mood in them.

I dreamt that I was at a rummage sale, browsing at a table piled with books, and came across a copy of The Bridge to Terabithia, which I've never read. I opened it and found that someone had drawn on all of the pages, around and over the text. They had drawn scenes from an old movie, but had replaced the people in the scenes with animals. I'm not sure what movie it was. Adam's Rib? I remember a court scene, with a panda as the judge.

I dreamt that I was with a man and a tiny little boy at some sort of social gathering, on the fourth floor of a narrow apartment building, with pretty, wide windows. Everything was colored like fall. For some reason I got the man and the little boy to race down the stairs with me. Everyone else seemed to think it was strange, but weren't bothered too much. We all got to the ground floor at the same time, happy and laughing, and there were dozens of tiny red and gray birds flying around, and a table covered in tiny red and green apples. The little boy sat on the ground, eating an apple, and one of the birds flew to sit on his head, and I could feel it as if it were sitting on mine...

My radio still comes on every morning. Some days I'm still awake, others I wake up just before it happens, but on my favorite days it wakes me up. The other morning I was dreaming of the prettiest clock, with a wide square face that had a Latin inscription on it, in my handwriting. I only remember one word of it, "raptuerit." Also on the clock face were two sets of piano keys, about seven keys to each set, and while I was looking at all of this, I woke up slowly to piano music coming out of the radio, which at first I thought it was coming from the clock. I'd love a clock like that. It was taller than I was...

before - after

old | now | profile | mail