Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-05-16 - 9:19 a.m.

Long, long, long. "Why the long face?" I don't know, I just feel long. Can feelings really be long? They all seem sort of stretched out, thin and transparent, and apt to float away. I have a lot in my head, too much to write here, and most of it unimportant anyhow.

I spent the last three days in Florida, because when a bad idea presents itself, I say, "Yes, let's!" Also because, for a girl who doesn't know how to talk to her family, and doesn't expect to ever learn, I'm way too susceptible to feelings of familial obligation. Also, it had been too long since I'd been on a plane.

Three days, and somehow things seem to have changed here. Through the window of the cab from the airport I saw that the old part of the mall is covered in scaffolding, the outer layer of the building peeled away and being replaced to match the new part of the mall, as well as every other mall I've ever seen. We won't be able to call it the big blue mall anymore. There was also scaffolding around the old, old church on Broadway, the one without mysterious bleachers. I've known that building all of my life, and I worry about what the scaffolding means. I get attached.

I got home last night to find my radio on to greet me. My radio and Mr. Schiekele, and then thunderstorms, and I was happy about all of it. I couldn't bring myself to leave again and meet the kids in Brooklyn. I have the whole summer for that stuff. I've decided that summer has already begun. I know that it hasn't technically, but I've declared myself the boss of seasons, and must apologize to spring for cutting it short. Spring was behaving strangely anyway, and could use some time off to gather its thoughts. So could I.

And more, more, more, but this is enough for now.


p.s. Florida was strange. I wish I'd brought you with me. Also, I think I'll miss you more when you've moved. That's strange too.


before - after

old | now | profile | mail