Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-07-05 - 7:59 p.m.

It's strange how everyone has the day off, and it isn't a holiday at all. It's like a national time-out. I woke up with a horrible headache. Hangovers make me feel so dumb, but we did have a great yesterday, didn't we? I also woke up with something mysterious on my arm, the letter g followed by an arrow pointing to the letter e. I still don't know what it means. A miserable morning and then a talk with George, who was feeling like I was, so we skipped our afternoon plans and each decided to just stay put. I went back to bed around one and woke a couple of hours later cuddled under the covers in an air-conditioned room, the sound of thunder from beyond the closed and shaded windows, hangover gone. That was good.

On Friday night I sat on the top step leading to the stage, talking to some friends. Michael was sitting directly behind me on a bench on the stage, facing the other way, talking to other people. After a while, he turned to join our conversation, leaning forward and resting his chin on the top of my head. I liked that. I have a thing about heads. Sometimes I think that when it seems hardest to explain a thought or feeling to someone, if I could just lay my hand against their head, they would understand. They would know. I don't know when or where the idea came from, or why it makes so much sense to me, the connection from hand to head. I've never tried it. I want to keep this idea, and I'm afraid that trying it would mean proving myself wrong.

Yesterday I heard someone say, "But then he said, "Those aren't Siamese twins, that's a two-headed girl!'" There's a bit of context I'm not going to explain, but somewhere around that point of the story I thought, "See! Everything is possible!" And I was pretty happy yesterday, and so was the two-headed girl. She especially enjoyed playing on the swings.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail