Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-10-22 - 11:14 p.m.

I feel so incredibly stuck these days, but each day turns into the next so quickly that I don't mind.

I missed everything today because I left my phone off without meaning to. A parade and a movie that I'd probably have liked, an invitation to the Madison Arms. Francis tried the parade without me, but got bored and gave up. He knows that the best parades don't know how to be prompt, but he's always hated waiting. He's talked me off of lines a thousand times. He's good at convincing me away with him.

Right now I'm supposed to be at the radio show, but instead I'm at home listening to it. I've never done that before. It feels so impersonal from here. The theme is hard to tell. A little bit ago it started pouring and I thought, "Oh! It would be so nice to be closed into that warm little room, watching the rain," but I'm probably better off here. Word around town is that Michael is prickly tonight, and we'd probably have snapped at each other a little. There's a party I'd have gone to afterward that would have been fantastically awkward. All in all, tonight's a good night to be home with the rain and Dalgleish and the beginnings of deatticing the kitchen. It's a slow process.

I stopped feeling cold last night. I tend to warm up a bit while I sleep. This morning at about seven the heat came on, and the sound of it was comforting and sure. It's the sound that's keeping me warm. I'm in such a nice, quiet, go to bed early mood. Tomorrow I have tea with George. We're going to a new place because I like the name of it. I don't even know if they have tea, but I'm ready for coffee again anyway. Over the past long, long while I've had one and a half cups, half at the start of April and one in August. I remember because they've been special occasion cups, but tomorrow will be coffee for no good reason, and it's about time. I have a thousand silly rules, all of these stupid little things I do and don't do. There's no point to any of it.

The music is taking strange turns. It nearly drove me away, but now it's drawing me back. All I need is a crossword and everything would be just right, at least in this little space I'm in tonight. I know I'm forgetting things, but sometimes it seems like a good idea to forget things.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail