Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2006-01-01 - 12:49 p.m.

It seems that a thousand things happened yesterday, but if I write it all I'll be typing all day. My two favorite things, for now:

a. Francis was emotionally hilarious and cringey, and while we were talking in the big wide doorway (is it a doorway if there isn't a door?) he kept fiddling with the great big colored Christmas bulbs strung across the top of it. One wasn't lit and he tried to fix it, but he couldn't get it. Finally, and without any interruption to the conversation, he unscrewed the bulb while I took a box out of my coat pocket. He put the bulb in the box and I put the box back in my pocket. We're a perfect team of casual vandals. A while later I said, "I happened to have just the right box. We stole a lightbulb!" Francis said, "Yeah, it was the right thing to do."

b. Somewhere around four in the morning there were six of us walking down Graham, thinking about cabs but knowing we wouldn't get one. Walking past one building, Danger said, "I hear a party in there, let's go in." We couldn't tell which floor the sound was coming from, but there were only a few buzzers, so we took our chances and were buzzed in. We went from floor to floor listening at doors to see which one we wanted, and after a false try and a quick apology we found it. A dark apartment crowded with dancing couples and a deejay playing reggae. It was capital weird. Danger said, "We're just here to say Happy New Year!" and then there was a lot of, "Come in, come in! Have a beer, have some food, take off your coats!" See, we all like rash decisions, which is why we went in at all, but we'd been on our way home to bed and then we were suddenly in the middle of an old-timey dance party. Michael said of it later, "There were guys walking up to girls and asking if they cared to dance. I actually saw a guy walk up to a couple and cut in!" Anyway, we stayed for a while and danced badly (we'd arrived in convenient pairs, so at least we didn't have to dance badly with strangers), there was a bit of of twirling and swiveling and giggling in each other's ears. We were completely out of place, and everyone was so sweet to us, and it was really nice. After a couple of dances we said thank you and goodbye and kept on down the street, halfway hoping for another party, but mostly just wanting to sleep.

As for everything else, I didn't know about the snow yesterday until I walked out into it around four in the afternoon. It was pretty startling. I met another same haircut, and he was super handsome, but possibly terrible. I am so against that haircut. There was a man with an eye patch and everyone was curious, so I finally asked Other Michael, who leaned down close and said, "He's wearing an eye patch because he needs to. I don't think there's an eye under there." My crush on Other Sam came back, but it's just for fun. Tank Top was wearing a tank top again. At midnight I was in the same house I spent New Year's Eve in two years ago, which was nice, but not. More things should be different, but they aren't. I'm a bit more shipwrecked than I care for, but I just washed last night's smoke out of my hair, I'm excited and sleepy and my walkman smells like violets, so things are good for a Sunday. I'm going to go see about an Egg movie.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail