Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2006-02-02 - 4:30 p.m.

It's actually not so much like cruise ships, it's more like submarines. Submarined forever, lost at the bottom of the sea.

The problem with being friends with Danger (it's probably more accurate to say a problem) is that I end up with these weird two part nights. The first part is spent with my reasonable friends doing reasonable things and then the second part begins with a wheedling phone call. "No, don't go home, I'm on my way, wait for me." And then we end up in bars with no names cheerleading for pool players, and then the sun is coming up while we sit in some unexpected Brooklyn apartment kissing boys we aren't much interested in while secretly pining for the boys of our dreams.

A couple of weeks ago Danger romantically/hilariously fell in love with an excessive drinker who followed her home, though not as creepily as it sounds. She said, "Remember James?" and I said, "Who?" and she said, "That guy from Detroit," and I said, "Who?" and she said, "That guy who sat down next to us and drank about five shots of whiskey one after the other," and I said, "Oh yeah." The thing is, he sat down next to me, introduced himself, and then began drinking ferociously. After a while I wandered away to talk to Cape Cod, and while I was gone Danger accidentally started falling in love. The next day he disappeared forever (for two weeks at least), and Danger loves him more every day. It is tragic/hilarious.

As for me, it is becoming clearer and clearer that K. was the best boy of my life. I remember after Sam met him he poked me and teased, "You want to marry him," and all I could do was smile really hard and say, "I think I do!" I surprised myself by meaning it. I was a lunatic, and it might be that I still am. Last night I hung out with A. and Jenny and they told me about how he is now, what he's been doing. They said that I should call him, but I don't think it's time yet. I don't know, we needed repairs, so now I'm keeping us put away for a long while, and maybe one day in the middle of doing something else I'll think, "Time to call K.," and everything will just work. I don't know. In the meanwhile, Carl was mysteriously wearing a wide tie and short, crumpled hair last night. He looked like a little boy on school picture day, so now I have a crush on him. I'm doomed and sort of sad, but it's a nice day today.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail