Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2006-02-24 - 5:58 p.m.

Whenever I see Wilford Brimley on television, he seems as though he's just about had it with me.

I'd gotten into the habit of falling asleep to Car Talk, but I'm working my way out. I'd been falling asleep to a different segment every night. I've solved the puzzler over and over in my sleep, but it stops being the right answer the moment I wake up. I've had numbery dreams that varied depending on the way the phone number was given. "Eighteen, double eight, two, twenty-seven, eight, two, double five." The faster he said it, the quicker my dreams went. They got nervous.

Last night I switched to faraway radio, low enough to just sound murmury, with a clear word coming through only once in a while. My dreams were slow. I went to sleep so late and so ready for it that I even dreamt about falling asleep. Twice, and it felt perfectly real. I dreamt I found Tom Daniel down the street in the rain. He was falling apart and worrying me in that grassy space behind the bushes. I climbed through and brought him out, shivering wet. I tried to put his jacket on over his shoulders, but he took it off and put it on mine, and it made no difference anyway, it was soaked, we were soaked. We sat on the curb and talked until he was better. I made him laugh and he told me I was dear. That sort of made me angry so I left him there. That sort of makes me angry even now when I'm awake and supposed to be sensible. I also dreamt about a cat with invisible arms. Legs? I don't know, I haven't got a cat. This cat did tricks that would have been a lot less impressive if I could have seen his arms/legs.

Well. I don't know. I feel a little sad, but hopefully I can cure that over the weekend. I could say more about that, but I don't know how. It's the kind of sad that makes me sit still and keep my mouth shut. Anyway, it's supposed to snow a bit tomorrow night, and then any minute it will be spring. Every day is a day that can go either way, and this might be the best time of the year.

Also, I've decided to get a hamster and call it Bonkers.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail