Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2006-05-06 - 10:39 a.m.

It seemed like we skipped right to summer for a while, but spring is trying. My hands are achy and covered with injury. Eventually, I'll learn the value of wearing work gloves, but it will be too late for my poor hands.

For now I'm packed in floor to ceiling all along one side, and may stay this way until July. I could put things into storage, but this isn't so bad, it's only along the one side. I'm good at packing and stacking, I guess. I like chores. I've pulled up the carpets and now I'll be scrubbing and sanding and painting the walls, one room at at time. Scrubbing and sanding and waxing the floors, and then it will be time to move out again. Morag is showing signs of concern, but I'm content with all of this. I am my own little episode of This Old House.

Jackpot calls and we talk about television. It's silly, but it's nice to talk to someone so far away about such ordinary things. "Foreman just jabbed Cameron in the leg with a needle!" We can't help it, he's a few episodes behind and curious. "Is that Foreman screaming?" I'll have to buy my ticket soon. I'll fly around the world and we'll talk about television in person, surrounded by a thousand tame deer.

Things are okay, really. I'm saving money and spending time in hardware stores, filling out change of address forms in the park, shopping for kites. I'm happier than I thought I'd be, and next weekend there'll be the Nethermead and the fieldhouse, so I'm bound to be happier then. I think it's time to eat an orange in the breeze.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail