Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-05-21 - 2:11 p.m.

Today, after class, some guys were talking about the moon landing. One of them, I'll call him Gary, said he didn't believe that it had ever happened. I was surprised, because Gary seems so, I don't know, so reasonable.

Okay, it's probably not fair to classify someone as unreasonable for doubting the moon landing, but, really, why look for trouble? Say there was no moon landing. What difference does it make? We're born, and have lives that are happy sometimes, and sad other times, and we fall in love, or we don't, and a million other things happen, or don't, and we die. And whether or not anyone actually walked on the moon has little to no bearing on any of that.

Given all of that, it's still a nice idea, isn't it? That a man, one of us, got to get into a complicated suit, and a more complicated craft, and go someplace else.

In unrelated news, I no longer have a crush on Lloyd. It's hard to maintain a crush on someone once you've seen him in a baggy sleeveless shirt. Which may be shallow, but that's the way it goes, I guess.

I've set up a new camp, crushwise. Let's just call him Edgar. I sort of took interest in Edgar on the first day of class, but I haven't really had any dealings with him since. Now he's everywhere I turn, and I like that. He knew my name even though we'd never really met. I'm a real sucker for that. I have no idea how old he is. He seems not that much older than I am, but he's got some gray hair, which confuses the issue. I love Edgar's hair. And his manner. He's so calm and confident. I could use some of that. I'm starting to feel silly writing about this, which is absurd because I'm fairly certain that no one is reading it. I guess I'm even a little uncomfortable sharing these things with me.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail