Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-06-17 - 5:39 p.m.

I go back and forth with my feelings about school so fast and so frequently that I don't know what's what. I'm alternately filled with dread and glee. Which I sort of like actually. Probably because I am currently in the glee portion of this cycle. As for the dread, everyone needs a bit of that in their lives, right?

The weather's been crazy. I like it. On Saturday it was perfectly sunny and warm, and in the space of five minutes it had gone dark and cloudy. I had to run out to the store, so I took an umbrella, just in case. When I stepped outside it was lightly drizzling, but by the time I got to the end of the block, the rain was harder than I'd ever been in before. As a woman on the news frantically exclaimed, "It was just like the Phillipines!" I've never been to the Phillipines, but I believed her. She's never lied to me before.

I went to the store (just two blocks away), and by the time I was halfway home I was fairly drenched, despite my umbrella. My jeans were completely soaked. I had a hard time even crossing the street, because the water was ankle deep at least three feet out from the curb. It had been clear just five minutes earlier, but things change fast. As I'm sure they do in the Phillipines.

A group of people huddled under a scaffolding opposite me watched breathlessly (well, maybe not breathlessly) as I leapt across the water and into the street, with the arm holding my umbrella extended up ahead of me, and the arm holding a plastic bag full of lightbulbs extended behind me. I was as graceful as a girl in water-heavy jeans could be, I think. It's a shame you weren't there to see it. I'm fairly certain that all who witnessed it fell instantly in love with me. Especially endearing was the fact that I bothered to jump at all, since my legs and feet were already as wet as they know how to be. And then off around the corner I disappeared from their sight, like a ghost in the night. And by night I mean mid-afternoon.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail