Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-09-18 - 8:01 p.m.

School was ick today. We have a partners project due in two days. All my partner (Jeffler) and I had left to do was record the second half of it to disk and turn it in, but when we tried to open our session in the computer, we got an error message that no one had ever seen before. Even Pale, who himself seems to be part computer, didn't know what to make of it, and his friend the internet wasn't much help either. He said that he could get us an extension, but we'd pretty much have to do a good amount of the project over again.

I could tell that he felt terribly about it, so I sort of gave him a half smile that said, "I know, I know. You're a well-meaning man, but there's only so much you can do for us." He left the room, promising to investigate further. Jeffler, however, was quietly but noticeably furious. He asked me to give him a few minutes and then left the room. Jeffler returned smiling. I don't know what he said, or how he said it, but he got Pale to agree that we didn't have to start over, and that we'd somehow be graded on what we had already recorded, and not be penalized for what was missing.

I guess the moral of the story is that an outraged Jeffler will not be swayed. It's not really satisfying, though. We did all of the work, but somehow I'd rather have to do it all over than to have them just take our word for it. I don't know why that is. It's silly, I guess.

But then I got caught in the rain. I came up out of the subway just as it was starting. It was raining hard, but sparsely, if that makes any sense. I mean, there weren't that many drops, but they were falling really fast. It was like having rain flung at you. It stopped when I got to within a couple of feet from my door. It was perfect.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail