Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-10-28 - 6:20 p.m.

Last evening I went to the post office, and even though I knew it was raining, I took no precautions. So, there I stood, cold and soggy at the end of a very long line. Then a couple got on line behind me, and the man spoke Japanese in the nicest voice. That was pretty great. He was sort of dashing and very well-dressed, but as we stood on line, he seemed to unravel a bit. At one point I looked at him and his shirt seemed suddenly wrinkled and partially untucked, and at another point his hair was rumpled and sticking up in spots. I was a little worried about him, but it was a pretty interesting distraction. He was not made for slow-moving post office lines.

This evening I was standing on Broadway, and a woman walked past me talking into what I think was a digital voice recorder. She said, "Who's Gary Rossi? I mean, who's Gary Rossi?" And now I'd sort of like to know.

Right now I'm feeling timid. I've been saying things to people lately that I wouldn't ordinarily say. Most likely, it isn't a big deal. I doubt anyone else is weighing my words as carefully as I am. And then today a friend told me that he thinks it's time we start saying things that we can't take back. I think he's right, and I told him so. His eyes lit up in the nicest way... Oh, and then he high-fived me.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail