Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-11-18 - 7:17 p.m.

How can time be moving both too slowly and too quickly? November has gotten away from me. And I could use a couple more weeks of it.

One good thing is that I've remembered that it's practically Thanksgiving, so my escape from this town is already taken care of. Maybe I should pack my bag and go stand out on the curb now. The car will pull up eventually. Or maybe I should wait until the rain stops. Or until I warm up a bit from having been out in it. I should start taking the weather more seriously. I'm not as indestructible as I'd like to believe.

My headphones died. I was in a hurry, so I bought a temporary pair at the 99 cents store. Why isn't there a key with a cent symbol on this keyboard? Was there ever one on any keyboard? $.99 just doesn't look right. Anyway, the headphones really are 99 cent headphones. They make the music sound like it's coming from underwater. Actually, on one song, the effect was pretty dreamy. So, that's okay, for now.

I spent a couple of hours with James this afternoon. As I was walking up to his building I realized that I hadn't been there in over a year. There was a time when a lot of my life revolved around that apartment. Things change, I guess.

The other night I saw Francis, and he punched me on the arm and said, "I never see you anymore." Then he pointed to Sam (who has been referred to in the past as cigarette buyer, but from this point on will be called Sam), and said, "I never see that guy anymore either." Then, in kind of a serious voice, he said something like, "I'm getting older. I need to get my life in order. I need to see my friends more often." I wondered, if we're his friends, then who are all of those people he's with every weekend? I don't know, it was kind of sad. But I told him that he would see us more often. I hope I was right about that. Later on, Francis said something that nearly made me cry. And then we were interrupted by someone, and being somewhat cowardly, we both welcomed the interruption.

Anyway... earlier I was walking down the street behind a fancily dressed man. Suddenly, for reasons I don't know, he started hopping from foot to foot, waving his arms around, and shrieking. Three equally fancy women who were walking ahead of him, and, I assume, were with him, stopped and turned around. One of them said, "What, we go crazy now?" with a vaguely European accent. He replied, in the same accent, "No! I born crazy!" I just walked on past them.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail