Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-06-17 - 6:14 p.m.

It's suddenly gotten dark. The news classified these thunderstorms as severe. Maybe it will quit being so hot for a while. It isn't even summer yet, and with my eyes closed I'd swear to it being July. I'm not sure why I'd have to close my eyes, but it feels right somehow. There are certain questions. If I wanted to go for a walk at three in the morning, would you come with me? If I wanted to nap on the grass, would you keep me safe? It seems so far away now. If something gets far away enough, can it stop existing altogether?

Unix has a friend called Tom, and likes to say of him, "He knows." Knows what? He just knows. It's something that can be understood, but not easily explained. I'm starting to feel that way about Michael. He either knows, or is beginning to. We made a plan, I decided what to say, and Michael completely got it. Last night, at a vulnerable moment, I said, "I just really want him to be my friend." I felt like a little kid. He said, "He will be. I'm going to make sure that happens." I don't know how to explain how that made me feel, so I won't.

The boy whose name I never remember was back. He's already starting to seem perpetual. I should really start remembering his name. I like him, I think. He's always so close and crosswordy. The raccoon was back asbwell. It's crazy, like a monkey walking by. "Aren't there raccoons in Queens?" If there are, they're cleverer than Brooklyn raccoons. They know how to keep out of sight. For all I know, a family of raccoons troops into my room every night after I'm asleep, and put themselves to bed in my clothes hamper, then file out again just before I wake up. I have been leaving the lid off of the hamper.

I nearly told Falton a secret. Instead, I slowly walked around it with her, and then I told her about the movie, which she knows, and loves, and owns. She invited me over to watch it again. We're an awful lot alike sometimes. We sang Cowtown for no good reason and got excited about summery things. It's going to be free and we're going, and then the next day is action action action, and then it will be my birthday. More than a month left to spend being excited about these things, and the excited is almost the best part.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail