Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-06-20 - 9:17 p.m.

There seems to be a strange urgency to the dreams I have on Saturday nights. I think it has to do with the feeling that the week is over and I haven't done enough with it. It leads to thinking of Sunday the way that people like to think of New Year's Day, as a day to start over. On Sundays I list resolutions in my head. Today my list is long. A solstice can magnify the urgency, I guess. My start has been good. I did a thousand necessary things before noon. Well, it may be that I only did four, but it felt as good as a thousand. This afternoon was a movie, a convoluted walk, a sit in the circle of benches, talking about birds and zombies, smiling at toddlers, and lazing around listening to This American Life while reading the paper. And other things, because there are always other things.

Is a drawn heart more or less personal than signing something with the word love? Do they mean different things? Drastically different? The problem, I think, is that it almost entirely depends on what's in the head of the person who receives it. People are so much trouble sometimes, all of the time, but then they say and do things that remind you that so much trouble is not the same as too much trouble. I love that even while it drives me crazy. Also, I've been listening to nothing but Belle and Sebastian for days, and I can't take it anymore, but I can't stop either. I suppose most problems are worse.

p.s. you were in my dream last night.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail