Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-08-01 - 11:41 a.m.

am I so dear? do I run rare?

There was a point at which we felt like fools for having bought the tickets at all, but impulses are impulses, and they won't be bossed around. Nothing looked the way we remembered, but after we spread our sheet out across the grass and settled into the crossword puzzle, it was okay. And then, what's that? Oh that's right, music. Dreamy, dreamy, dreamy, and occasionally I wandered off across the field by myself, and that was nice too. After the sun went down I remembered how much I'd forgotten. It's been years and years since I've listened, because... I don't know why. Sometimes something gets so wrapped around my feelings that I can't make myself hear it anymore. It turned out to be a good thing, because every song was a surprise, like running into your best friend from when you were five, and suddenly remembering whole pockets of your life that might have otherwise stayed gone forever. We were so happy, and I was seventeen, or maybe fifteen, and there went day two.

Now I'm older and it's raining with a threat of lightning later on. My lifeguard will have to save people from both drowning and electrocution, it seems. It puts me at odds with myself, but I hope the rain stops soon. The clouds can stay, but we wanted to sit outside in the night eating popsicles and spotting raccoons. That's not so much to want.

And here's the sun! There'll be just enough time for the grass to dry.


before - after

old | now | profile | mail