Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-08-05 - 12:05 p.m.

Escape! Yes, I am wiley, and thank you for noticing. I've never slept so long before.

I was upset that he didn't come. Not at first, because he is not the type to show up early, and neither would I in his place, but eventually... Maybe I made a face, or maybe Sam just always knows. He asked what it was, so I made something up that he didn't believe, and then I told him the truth, and even though I said it aloud, it felt like I was whispering. Then last night he rode up alongside me, passing me as he called out, "It was your birthday!" He circled back around and stopped in front of me, and I couldn't hold it in. It was really hot yesterday, and he was sweaty from riding from work, and something about that made him look like such a little boy. He had a more than decent reason for not coming that night, so I forgave him. Later on I wasn't surprised that he didn't come back, but I didn't mind either.

Where was I at the time? Sitting on the deck next to the Egg with my face pressed against his shoulder, laughing at something he'd whispered to me, while everyone else looked at us suspiciously because they hadn't heard what he said. That moment right then could have been good enough, but it was a three-racoon night. Baby racoons, and a story about limping tricks certain birds play in the grass, and stolen medical equipment, and a sack full of luck to disguise myself with, and we laugh at the weirdest things. The boys did well. The Captain and Kickstand were outstanding, and the field of m was so pretty. And, you know, other things. I think it will carry me clear though to September.

I misheard something on the radio, and now I wonder why baseball teams aren't named for monsters. Don't they want to seem tough? Why isn't there a Baltimore Vampires, or a Detroit Frankensteins? Remember when we decided to start our own gangs, dividing our group of friends into teams? Mine was the Werewolves, and you didn't like that I talked all of the best boys into it, because none of them liked the name you chose. "and we'll kiss like monsters at the bottom of the sea." That wasn't it, but I like it better that way.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail