Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-10-09 - 2:51 p.m.

In little bits, I'm getting there. Why is it so disappointing that I don't know everything? Not sharply disappointing, but disappointing enough to embarrass a little.

So, in situations that don't matter much, I have a tendency to trust people I really shouldn't. There's no harm besides some annoyance, and maybe I use the situations to balance the lack of trusting people when it counts. Anyway... Bees and I made a deal, and I'm going to stick to my end of it, even if she doesn't to hers. She probably won't even be home when I go over there, and the Captain will tell me I should have known, and I'll tell her she's right, and then we'll have cocktails and play with the rabbit. It's not so bad.

I have a new friend, a sort of instant friend. We met nearly ten years ago, when I was in Amherst for a weekend, for some reason. She's a friend of a friend and even though we've never lived in the same city before, we unintentionally run into each other every few years, and it's always easy and good. A few weeks ago George and I were sitting at Pete's when I heard my name and turned around, and there was New Friend. She moved to New York over the summer and had been waiting to run into me. The last time I saw her was three springs ago, in Oregon, and now, just like that, instant friend. We get along really well and are interested in a lot of the same things, and my other friends like her too. I'm glad because I think it's made her settling in here a lot easier. Most things don't work out so nicely.

You know when you're sitting inside, reading or writing, or putting something together or taking something apart, and suddenly notice the sounds from the outside? Kids shouting, and birds complaining, car horns honking, and skateboard wheels rolling along the sidewalk? Nothing sounds better, sometimes.

p.s. Do you remember the clown I told you about? I saw him this morning. His beard was orangey yellow, and he wore a hat that was mostly the same color, with bits of green in it. His clothes from shoulders to feet went from reddish orange to brown; he was like a tree whose leaves were changing. Instead of his bicycle he had a baby carriage, and the poodle rode there instead of the basket. He was out in front of a grocery store, having an ordinary conversation with a group of elderly women about the upcoming election. Isn't that good?

before - after

old | now | profile | mail