Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-11-13 - 11:13 p.m.

Wednesday worked out well, if quietly.The boys are smart and thoughtful, and Cape Cod loves us so much it hardly makes sense. Magnetic Fields songs don't hold the right answers to all of the questions, but the wrong answers that I found in them were pretty worthwhile. If I hadn't gone I wouldn't have this copy of This Old House Magazine, would I?

On Thursday, in honor of Veteran's Day and my long-held crush on D. Craig, I went to see Enduring Love. I think I've been a little lonely lately, but things could be worse. I liked it. I liked that I didn't know how it started before I saw it. I like that Mr. Nighy is everywhere I turn lately, turning into a zombie, making wagers with princes, and speaking sweetly to the baby in his arms.

I've been happily listening to SlowWonder for months, but this week, for some reason, my affection for it has become true, desperate love. I want to marry him, a little. I want to make out with him at the red lights, sitting in that old white car. Mr. Beam and Ms. Parton have also been having a strong effect on me lately, especially in the mornings. It takes me years to wake up.

I've been dreaming crazy dreams, and I think it makes me extra susceptible to certain songs. I am helpless to resist. I dreamt that my dreams are true. I dreamt a row of houses that I'd only ever dreamt once before, and chose the same house to go into as when I first dreamt it. I never completely forget a place I've been to in my sleep. In my dreams I've been a person who has dreams that are real, and there was another person having the same dreams, and when we're awake (in my dream) we talk about them. Everything is sort of yellowish brown. I know this doesn't make enough sense, but descriptions of dreams don't have to.

Right now I'm listening to Ira Glass and Andre Previn at the same time. Two things at once is the perfect amount lately. I think it started on Sunday with BBC World Service on the radio and My Favorite on New York Noise. It was the best kind of soothing. There's more on my mind, but I'm not sure what the words are. There are enough here already. It's windy today. I'll need a good sweater.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail