Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-12-06 - 7:01 p.m.

I am a day behind. Every night I think of the next morning and then remember that the morning I'm thinking of already happened. Also, I'm a notebook waster. I've got more quarter-filled notebooks than anyone has a right to, all ruined. I'm a notebook ruiner who has fallen a day behind.

Today is cold and rainy. It's the kind of cold and rainy that makes me feel as though the rain is soaking deep into the hand holding my umbrella and is going to freeze there. Under the skin my hand will be ice. It's time for gloves. Also, when it rains the ends of my pants always get wet. Is it time for the galoshes that Bees and I talked about?

Every spare moment of every spare day has been spent looking for the eyeglasses of my dreams. It has become a blur of dark plastic. I've forgotten the difference between what I like and what I don't. I have gone too long without glasses, and it is breaking my heart. Now I've narrowed it down to two nearly identical pairs, one brown, one black, and I doubt I'll feel sure about the pair I finally choose. In fact, I'm sure to regret them, but once I spend some time with them we'll be best friends. They'll become a part of my face, and I won't remember that other glasses exist.

I don't want to get stuck, but I'm so good at it. I'm better at getting stuck than I am at breathing, and I'm so good at breathing that it doesn't even look like I'm trying. I keep losing my mind when I need it the most.What I'd like is to reset this fall and try again. What I'd like more is to live a short walk from the docks, so that I could walk down and sit by the water, watching the rain fall into it.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail