Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-12-24 - 1:46 p.m.

I wish people would stop giving the weather a hard time. It's been sort of interesting. It's been colder, then warmer, then colder, then warmer, and everyone always dressed slightly wrong for it, scowling at the sky and feeling tricked, somehow. Yesterday would have been a blizzard if the temperature had been lower, all day long wind, wind, wind and rain, rain, rain. It's exciting, this weather uncertainty. Today is cold (but not quite freezing) and clear. Everyone wants snow, but don't they remember how long winter is? And that if it starts to mean it this early, by February it will feel like a marathon of cold that we'll never get out of? Don't worry, weather, I'm on your side.

I keep reading the word "sweatshirt" as "sweetheart." I don't mind.

My glasses have been delayed. I dreamt about them last night. I also dreamt that I and a group of friends were on the run from some mysterious criminal organization that we had accidentally stolen something from, and all we wanted to do was get to an art opening before we were caught, because we didn't want to miss the party. We had to travel through these twisty tunnels made of ice. The ice, for some reason, wasn't cold, and there were little rooms along the way where we'd run into people we knew, and we'd stop and talk, and then continue on. Throughout the dream I kept checking my mailbox for something, which was weird. Everywhere we went, we kept passing my mailbox, and there was always something in it, but never anything good. At the end of the dream I was sitting at a bar next to Sawyer, and he was being obnoxious, and it was fun. Also, Tom was there, but I kept avoiding eye contact. I think sometimes that the only purpose in describing a dream is to let the dreamer remember more of what happened in it. I think describing this dream made me remember less. I'm forgetting something about a dog, and an elevator, and a boat, and... mummies? Have I forgotten the best parts?

before - after

old | now | profile | mail