Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-03-31 - 11:48 a.m.

I'm supposed to be moving, slightly, right now, but I went down to look at the apartment and it was much worse than I thought it could be. This is something it never occurred to me to worry about. I forget sometimes that there are things I wouldn't do that other people would.

So. I didn't really sleep last night, and now it will take me at least all day to clean what someone else should have, and I just want to get into bed. Jackpot left badly. He spent the past two weeks being a jerk, and at first I ignored it because I figured he was just feeling weird about leaving, but after a while that's just not a good enough reason. Still, I went to the airport, not for his sake but for hers, and tried to be normal and talk about The Amazing Race and how Jackpot has more pockets than anyone I've ever met, and then I shouted, "Bye!" and went outside to take the bus home. While I was waiting I looked up and saw a seagull fly overhead and noticed its little feet tucked against its body. I don't think I've ever seen that before.

I really like taking the bus. I notice people more, and they're closer and more interesting. And the window. Coming down Lefferts there was a block where every house was the same house in a different color, and they were all so pretty, standing close together, probably having secret house conversations about how nice the weather's been. At a corner that wasn't a stop the light turned green and the bus started pulling away, but then the driver noticed a man and a boy running towards the corner from more than half a block away, and he stopped and opened the door and waited for them while he listened to ABBA and whistled along. I love when that happens, when people run desperately to catch something and they make it. Happy, happy, happy.

Now I have to figure things out. Maybe eat something and have some tea and bring a radio down and figure things out. Tomorrow will be better than today and Saturday will be better than both.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail