Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-04-03 - 5:44 p.m.

I am all sighs today.

I sort of live in two places at the moment, and I can't wait until I live in one. I'm still throwing things away, and under every mess is a worse mess, but the radio's been good, and I don't mind the messes as much as I did.

Yesterday was George's birthday, and there was a party at the nicest house I've ever been in. The downstairs bathroom used to be the kitchen, and there was a door in it that led to the basement. The basement, mysteriously, was well above street level. Some of us spent the night, and this afternoon George and her boyfriend gave me a ride back across the water. While waiting for a light to change we saw a statue of the Virgin Mary with a bouquet of fresh flowers at its base. A man was walking by and stopped, walked over to the statue, picked up the flowers and walked away. "He's stealing from Mary!" "That's alright, as long as we're between popes, there are no rules. Everyone can sin as hard as they want."

The car ride was good, we talked about things that happened forever ago, and George said she had math homework to do when she got home, and George's boyfriend mentioned a basketball game he wanted to watch. It has to be nice to have someone you love drive you home and then live in it with you, watching a basketball game while you do your math homework. I got out of the car in Brooklyn and then took the subway, and while I was doing that I realized how tired I was and how long it had been since I'd had anything to eat, and I just wanted to fall asleep where I sat. The train kept stopping at stations that it wasn't supposed to stop at, and somehow it was like being on a ghost train. In the subway tunnel between East Broadway and Delancey there were lights flashing down near the base of the wall, and for a moment it was the most beautiful thing I'd ever seen, and right after that moment it was only light.

I had a hundred other things to say, but I don't know where they are now.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail