Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-06-18 - 6:18 p.m.

Everything is always simpler than I make it, but hasn't it always been that way? What I should do is hire the Captain full time to steer the ship of my life around. Really, she would do such a good job. Unfortunately she is gone for the weekend, but that means that I get to stay still for a couple of days. I need them. I also need a record player needle, but I'm not willing to get on the subway, and where can I walk to for one? None of my ideas are anything but vague. Today is that kind of day, even the sky keeps flipping back and forth from cloudy to bright. The weather report says there's a chance of rain tonight, but it says that every day. I am colder than I should be. From the waist down I'm summertime but my top half is all sweatered up. I think I like it this way.

Jackpot called again and I missed it. His message said, "None of you ever answer the phone." Apparently in New York none of us ever answer the phone. My reception has gotten worse anyway. Or I just don't know how to use the phone. When I'm at home no one can ever hear what I'm saying, and I wonder if the scaffolding has anything to do with it. This morning the scaffolders were back but I did a good job of ignoring them. It would be better if I could ease back into the habit of sleeping at night rather than in the morning, because at night there are no scaffolders to ignore.

Another thing (which has nothing to do with anything, but is just another thing), is that people keep mentioning Mr. and Mrs. Smith, and every time I hear it I think of Mr. and Mrs. Bridge, and that scene when the storm comes and everyone runs away, but Mr. Bridge insists they stay until they're done with dinner. I love that scene. Speaking of movies, how many sequels are there to Children of the Corn? I thought I overheard someone talking about Children of the Corn 7, but that can't be, can it? It happens that I own a copy of the first one. I've had it for several years, and I don't think it's ever been played. It was a gift from my mother, because she specializes in gifts that don't make sense, like karaoke machines, and kitchen timers shaped like fruit, and teddy bears with smaller teddy bears for feet. My mother is so good at gifts.

It just occured to me that a week from right this minute I'll be sitting on a sheet in a park doing the crossword and listening to an ugly but loved portable radio, waiting for dark. Better and better and better. This coming week, and the one after as well, will more than make up for the last few days, even if I do have to go to New Jersey and ride rollercoasters (I may have developed a new fear of rollercoasters). Now I'm too anxious, and it's about more than the tea I've had too much of. More than the tea and the rollercoasters combined.

Has any of this made any kind of sense?

before - after

old | now | profile | mail