Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-08-24 - 12:49 a.m.

Things are not so much looking up as they are looking sideways, but I don't really mind sideways.

I've been getting emails from Switzerland, with words like you and say and my and days spelled zou and saz and mz and dazs. Sam cannot be bothered to adjust to his Swiss keyboard and it's making everything he says seem more exciting and jagged. I didn't know that he'd be going to Switzerland, but I guess I know why. Last I heard was London, "I'm leaving tomorrow, bon voyage!" He checked to make sure of my address. He's going to mail me the head of a prince, because that is what you do when visiting Switzerland, to show people at home that you're thinking of them.

I'm practicing saying yes to things I want to say no to. As a result I found myself standing around downtown with the Captain, making up stories about sad looking men smoking behind a velvet rope, trying to seem to be not worth interviewing. He said, "So you were just struck by whimsy?" and I said, " Yes, I guess I was." After a while we went to see J.C., but his bar hadn't opened yet, though it was well after nine. It's sort of a creepy bar. We puttered around for while and told secondhand stories, and then it was home. A waste of time, but a pleasant one.

I've been clumsy this summer and have injured myself some. My skin is sore in spots, my hands have holes in them. Minor holes, but they're lingering because I keep roughing them up. If this were really the future, there'd be some sort of bath I could get into, and then come out healed. All of the futuristic technology is being poured into the advancement of video games, which is why I can't be teleported around, why I can't wake up every morning, select the weather I want, and have a pocket of it follow me around all day. I don't even play video games.

I get better at everything after I've been rough on my throat and thoroughly confused. By Sunday morning, I should be great at everything.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail