Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-08-27 - 2:51 p.m.

This morning I spilled tea on my night gown, and it felt like the end of the world for the tiniest second, and then I just didn't care. Otherwise, I have no skills, I'm afraid. Right after learning something I tend to spend a while furiously unlearning it. It's as though I'm trying to save room for something as yet unidentified.

A strange man on Church Street said, "I like your dress," even though I wasn't wearing a dress. I think the Egg called me, "Baby." Twice. Everyone's going weird.

The show last night was horrible. The first two bands were alright, but the band we were supposed to be there to see was really only loud. Luckily, Sam was getting sleepy-eyed, so when I pulled him away the Egg understood. I am never going to see that band again. But! The ferry ride over was perfect. We stood out on the deck and felt that we might get tossed over the rail, and the weather was just right, and the wind smelled like THE SEA. The trip home, as always, took half our lives, so I got back to Queens really late. I got restless anyway and finally had the middle of the night walk I've been wanting, and it was perfect.

I can't read anyone's mind, and it's a little tiresome. I had bad dreams last night, but there was one part where a strange bird flew in through the window and flew slowly around, growing larger and stripier. It flew like it was swimming. I looked outside and there were nothing but grassy fields and trees forever, and out in the middle of it was a giant, giant, huge printing press. It was working at printing something all on its own, like a magic, haunted printing press, and that was the best part of any dream I've had in a while.

I'm going to spend a couple of hours arranging my feelings into a nicer order so that when nightfall comes and everything starts to glow the weird way that it does, I'll be ready to really notice it.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail