Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-12-07 - 3:51 p.m.

My hands are freezing and my horoscope says I have four stars today. It says, "Tonight: Togetherness could bring surprising results." We'll see, I guess.

I called him today, because I had to, because I've been putting it off for a week, and for months before that. Tonight Michael will ask me how it went, that's why it had to happen today. I couldn't tell Michael that I'd been scared to call, he'd say, "Why didn't you tell me? I would have done it." See, there are some things that it's unnacceptable to be scared out of doing. Anyway, I called and it was perfect. This time my phone was fine and his was a jerk. He said, "Hello? Look, I can't hear you, it's not your fault, it's my phone." Then he just started talking. He knew why I had called. He knew it was me, which meant he hadn't taken my number out of his phone. I'd been wondering about that, but his is still in mine. His voice started scratchily, but eventually settled smooth. I must have woken him up. I like his voice, a lot, and it was really nice to just sit there and listen to him talk to me without saying a word back.

There are a few people whose voices I'd like to hear without having to talk back, and it might be nice if when we called people there were a code to dial which would indicate that we were calling to listen, not to talk. Then, if the person we were calling felt like it, they could just talk for a while about anything. They could even read the newspaper. I think it would be nice to hear a familiar voice read the newspaper to me. Maybe that's part of why I like Pat Kiernan so much, though he doesn't really read the paper as much as he scoffs at the more pointless articles. He never stops smirking, but it only makes me love him.

Otherwise, I've been reading some science lately, and why am I not a scientist? I have made a lot of mistakes, but that might be the most terrible. I'm going to have to invent something to make up for it. Or come up some sort of perfect plan to make everything better, at least for a while. Or I'll combine the two. I want a Nobel Prize. It's never too late to start working on a Nobel Prize.


before - after

old | now | profile | mail