Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2006-04-22 - 9:30 a.m.

Today the predicted high temperature and low temperature are exactly the same. But! The current temperature is one degree lower. Somehow, that makes today hardly exist, and with the dimness today becomes all quiet, quiet reading and television mysteries. Unless the nephews come by, in which case the quiet will be interrupted by noisy games and a rainy walk to the tea cafe. Either way, it will be a nice day.

Tomorrow's weather illustration changed from a bit of sun on the left and a bit of rain the the right to rain on both sides and double lightning bolts. This is more exciting to me than makes sense.

Everything else is almost too much to think about. I don't know anyone's address. I know where people live, I can get to my friends' homes, but I only know which streets to turn down and what the buildings look like, I don't know any of the numbers. This is a problem because I think I owe several people an explanation for the way I've disappeared the last couple of months, and handwritten notes seem like the way to do it. With postscripts saying, "I'm going to stay disappeared for a while longer, I love you and all, but I just can't." Or not. There's no good way to explain that I've got some kind of deep down internal fidgets and the idea of sitting around in bars or restaurants or living rooms having the same conversations we've always had seems impossible to me. I'm too tired of smiling when I don't mean it, and I'm too used to doing it. I need a long, long break, and everything in the world just has to wait.

Right now I have a small excitement about the open kitchen window and making tea with the radio on. I've got a silver dollar to buy the newspaper with, so I'm just going to go ahead and have my quiet quiet noisy, even-temperatured day, watching Murder City (the best/worst name in the world) and finishing that book I started a thousand years ago. I'm not going to worry about anything else. Today is four stars; tonight: the only answer is yes.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail