Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-05-27 - 7:21 p.m.

I'm getting taller. Well, I guess that's not true, but my posture's been great lately, so I feel taller. It's nice.

When I was in college people would occasionally claim to have had so much to drink the night before that they would wake up drunk. Which never happened to me, and sounded sort of preposterous. Until now. After some accidental independent study, I've discovered a foolproof method.

1. Eat nothing.

2. Drink a lot of bourbon very quickly. (Sipping is not really going to get anyone anywhere, is it?)

3. Follow the bourbon with two or three bottles of beer.

4. Attempt hula hooping outside on a cold rainy night. (The sloshing can only help, and being cold and damp weakens the system enough to give the alcohol a chance to really take hold.)

5. Get very little sleep.

I spent most of the morning teetering on the edge of a big bowl of hangover, but, thankfully, I managed to not fall in. Making crabby faces while listening to my walkman way too loud on the subway really seemed to help.

In class today 'the kid who sleeps in class,' having arrived in his pajamas (not for the first time), took off his shoes, lay his head down, and fell into a deep sleep. Right in the middle of the room, right where everyone had a clear view of him. Edgar suggested that someone take a blanket (that was for some reason on a shelf in the corner of the room) and wrap it around 'the kid who sleeps in class.' Edgar also suggested that someone carry him gently out of the room and lay him on a couch in one of the offices somewhere. No one was willing to go that far, but the blanket was wrapped around him, which startled him out of his sleep. 'The kid who sleeps in class' was like a big disoriented baby. I wanted to hug him, almost. Well, not really, but, you know, maybe pat him on the head.

Goodnight.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail