Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-05-02 - 1:35 p.m.

Last night turned out to nearly be what I'd been hoping for on Friday night. Hanging around at home, reading and shuffling around, and watching television and listening to Mr. Schiekele. Except, as wouldn't have been the case on Friday, there were plenty of sneezes woven throughout my night. Somehow I woke up with a cold yesterday morning. Actually, I may have gone to bed with it. There was a suspicious sneeze, but I thought it was just extra sleepiness. I will blame Sam for it, whether he deserves it or not.

He called me on Friday night and I asked him for help in getting out of another of the endless string of "Hey! I'm going to be gone soon, you have to come out tonight!" nights that Jameso has been managing to squeeze out of us. Instead of helping me figure out how to have the night at home I'd wanted, he got me involved in a scheme to shanghai the boys to a show involving some sort of fire tricks, and the next thing I knew it was a few hours later and we were crammed into a cab on our way to Brooklyn. And the next thing I knew after that, it was even more hours later and Sam was smiling at me, and I couldn't believe he had done it again. He's clever at getting his way when his way is interesting enough. It almost always is. He said on the phone as he was roping me into his plans, "Come on! You know you love hanging out with me." He's right, I do. He might be the most fun I know.

I woke up this morning seeming to have escaped my cold. It's been hours and hours and I still feel sleeping. It's sixty degrees and I'm shivering because my body has already forgotten what to do below seventy degrees when the sun's not out. I need to shake myself up, finish this tea and wander around outside with my headphones on. Maybe I'll go to Jackpot's and drag him out for an adventure. Later tonight, after it's been dark for awhile, I'll come home to talk to someone I've got a head full of talk for. I'm looking forward to that already, being curled up in my creaky chair, windows open whether I'm cold or not, the sounds of the traffic downstairs, and a little red light like a person waiting to hear whatever I need to say.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail