Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-06-10 - 7:31 a.m.

I woke up this morning all agrump, I think for no reason other than that it's Thursday and I've gotten used to being crabby on Thursdays. But wait! Yesterday, for the first time in forever, I had a nearly perfect Wednesday. I got a few things done that weren't so easy but really needed doing. I admitted to Francis that I miss him, and his response was as vague as I expected, but then he showed up just in time and smiled at me an awful lot, so that was pretty great. It was super hot, but the heat is still novel, and it was fun being crammed onto that seat with our legs pressed together.

And, and, and! We did unbelievably well last night! The second half ruined us, but we didn't care at that point. Lately there are always a thousand of us, and we shout out sarcastic comments, and whoop at things that leave the other teams baffled, and are driven furious by terrible questions, and for some reason the bartenders still seem to love us the best. We get way more free drinks than we ought to, which one day is going to lead to trouble but I guess you need more trouble when it's this hot.

I'm certain that I'm missing something. Somewhere right behind what I'm thinking is the thing I want to write down, but I can't quite get at it. Something about Mr. Mizrahi and this song and messages to Canada, or not about those things at all, but about what they're making me think of, or nearly think of. It's like almost remembering a dream but not remembering it at all. It's like almost having a dream and then realizing I'm awake. It seems that the time it's taken me to write the last few sentences is only getting me further away from it. I'm going to run away from this computer and hope for the best.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail