Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-08-22 - 11:12 a.m.

So much shouldn't happen in two days. If it insists, it should at least leave some visible difference on you, like a strangely shaped birthmark, or different colored eyes. At least I know how to handle emergencies, if nothing else. I have nothing more to say about that.

My glasses seem to be gone for good. I want them back. Not a new pair, the pair I've gotten attached to. I get attached to everything, but nothing so strongly as glasses. I love them and I need them and they always take care of me, and that may sound a bit much, but I am a girl who cries at movie trailers, so isn't it to be expected?

If you could see into my head and read the list of pressing thoughts, you'd be shocked at the order I've put them in, I think. I am currently preoccupied with secret codes, and am looking too hard for them. Of course, finding them depends more on how much I want them to be there than on whether they actually exist. Maybe people just say exactly what they mean. Maybe it's like being in the dark and hearing a voice, but having no idea which way the speaker is facing, and hoping too hard that he's facing me. I don't even know why! I used the word attention, but I think now that the word I really wanted was tending.

In my dream last night I was in a helicopter, and a cabin in the woods, and a ballroom, and I chased a raccoon, and was shot at, and wore a fancier dress than I've ever worn awake. Then there was something more, running for a train, and snow, and a ringing telephone that I couldn't answer. The walls were made of rice paper, and the bullets were made of light. It was a good dream. It will be a good Sunday, despite my missing glasses.

p.s. I miss you, still.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail