Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-10-14 - 10:39 a.m.

Sam! So, that was surprising, and he always smoothes things over. Afterward we walked over to see if someone was home. I said, "Well, we can just check to see if his light is on," and it was. I said, "Is that the right window?" and it was sad that I wasn't sure. But then he leaned his head out and seemed happy to see me, and I think he thought I'd used weepy friend as an excuse, and I think he was glad that I had, so that was good. We watched the rest of the debate, and drank limey drinks, and talked about Spaced, and the Most Annoying Boy in the World was not home, but his kittens were, and isn't it great when kittens climb all over you like you're part of the furniture?

It's dark today. It's nice, it's like early morning is lasting forever.

What I love lately is how I'll put something away for months or even years, and then when I finally listen to it I love it so much I can hardly stand it. I never think I should have listened to it all the while, because I know it wouldn't have been as good if I hadn't waited until the right moment. Or I like to think of it that way, anyhow. Until today, I hadn't listened to the Decemberists all summer. Longer even, probably. I must have stopped around the time I made them a favorite. Her Majesty now makes me think of cold air and Christmas lights and daydreaming on Broadway and sitting in my room listening to the heat coming out of the radiator while gluing bits of paper together and stamping things with red ink. Her Majesty sounds like the smell of snow. It's stuck in last winter the way Ten Small Paces is stuck on a bus in Greece years ago, during the cold sleepy hours before the sun came up.


p.s. I've been waiting to talk to you, as though the right time will present itself, as though I'll wake up one morning and think, "Yes, today's the day," but it doesn't work that way, does it? Do you want to be talked to? Are you talking to me?

before - after

old | now | profile | mail