Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2004-10-19 - 5:51 p.m.

It gets dark really early now, doesn't it? I didn't really notice it happening. Any minute now I'll look outside and see snow, and I'll say, "Already?" and the snow will look back at me and say, "Well, it is December," and I won't know where November went. Just like that, everything happens, and then it's another thing. I wish that time could be switched from automatic to handcrank, and when switched over would only go as fast as we were willing to turn. I would turn it forward and back, and time would sound like a tape running backwards, and we would laugh at the sound, over and over again.

On Friday night I saw a suited young man on the subway. Something about the way he stood made him seem unused to suits. He stood in front of the doors, attempting over and over to tie his tie in the reflection of the window. After several minutes a tiny older man in a too big red satin baseball jacket got on and sat down near the younger man and watched him for a while, before eventually waving him over. The younger man walked over to the older man and handed him the tie. The older man tied it around his own neck, explaining the procedure as he went. There was something fascinating about the interaction; everyone on that end of the car watched. It made me happy for a reason that's difficult to describe. It made me smile at the man sitting across fom me, and made him smile back.

Another great thing happened on Sunday afternoon. Coming around the corner I saw a teenage boy walking back from the grocery store with a boy who looked about six or seven years old. The older boy was smiling down at the younger boy in the obnoxiously smug way older brothers sometimes do, and the younger boy scowled up at him. This lasted the whole block that I walked alongside them for, neither of them saying anything until finally, just as I was turning into my building, the younger one said, "Shut up!" The older boy not having said anything, I could only assume that the younger boy was telling the older boy's smile to shut up, and it was fantastic. See, I don't even know why I love that so much, but I do.

I forgot to say that I know about the bees. I suppose, by now, so do you. They're like little people, except that they don't have winter clothes. And, of course, they're bees.


before - after

old | now | profile | mail