Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-02-09 - 4:29 p.m.

Last night I was awake for too long, and no one could figure out why.
"She's sleepy, isn't she? And feeling kind of crummy in a way that makes a bed miles more inviting?"
"Yes, in fact she went to bed hours ago expecting to fall right to sleep, and she did get most of the way there, but now here she is wide awake, and how did she get from there to here?"
"It's as though she got tangled up in a passing time machine, but was shaken free a short distance along its path. It must have jostled her right out of drowsing at two and right into fidgeting at four."

Do I really need to be making all of these entries? Maybe the whole thing could be reduced to yearly summaries. - "Sometimes I couldn't sleep and it bothered me, and other nights I could and that bothered me too, except for when I liked it. The weather was variable."

My tea tastes a bit appley. It really shouldn't, and never has before. I've eaten an apple each of the last two mornings, but haven't had one today. Does my tea want me to eat an apple or does it want to replace apples in my life? I don't know.

So, right now I'm all stirred up because of the feelings of fictional characters. I get too carried away with these things. When I get overly emotional I can't talk to people on the phone without flailing like an idiot. In person it's okay, because you can just look thoughtful and let the other person do most of the talking and they won't even notice, but on the phone you're expected to contribute actual words. Michael called earlier, and even though I needed to talk to him about something, I let the voicemail get it, and then replied by email, which was only two sentences about nearly nothing, but still took me forever to word.

I think tonight I will just be quiet. I'll see Bees for the first time since it happened, and will in fact be alone with her at times, and I don't know how to comfort her except to hug her for as long as she wants me to. This is different. This is our first one. Michael says that maybe this is just the phase of life we're moving into, and it will just be a thing that happens regularly, like people moving in together or getting jobs that provide medical insurance. We're too young, probably, but if we're behind on everything else, maybe we have to be ahead on this to make up for it.

I think there's supposed to be some kind of storm or something, but I can't seem to make myself check the weather report. I guess I'll have to chance getting rained on or blown away in the wind. I'm hoping for snow. See? The weather is variable.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail