Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-06-07 - 5:12 p.m.

The many forms of google are taking over my life. Taking over my heart.

A good way to uncross yourself is to have an email conversation with your friend George about how you've recently come to appreciate Miss Marple. The thing about Miss Marple is that she likes to go and stay with the young friends she has scattered all over England. The thing about having Miss Marple come to stay with you is that even though you aren't a child anymore, and even though she keeps saying, "You can call me Jane now," it will be the end of the episode before you can break the habit of calling her Miss Marple. The other thing about having Miss Marple come to stay with you is that if someone hasn't died shortly before she arrived, someone surely will shortly after. It's alright though, because Miss Marple will solve the crime, and she'll do it impishly!

After my typetalk with George I put on my French Policelady's raincoat and went out into the thunderstorm, and after that everything was much better. I had a tuna sandwich for dinner and watched Gordon Ramsay on television and clothed my sheetless bed and tried to play the accordian. I can't play the accordian. I could use some accordian assistance.

This morning the scaffolders were back, but only for a few minutes. It is only the fourth time since they first arrived, and each time they are there for a shorter period of time. I call them the scaffolders because the only thing they work on is the scaffolding, adding a new dimension each time, first the metal frame, then the wooden flooring, then the far wall to keep them from tipping into the sidewalk. Last week they added planks of wood leading from the edge of the scaffolding right onto my windowsill. It is an invitation to murderers, shouting, "Look how easy it would be to get into that apartment, we've set up a little walkway for you!" I haven't looked yet to see what the scaffolders were up to this morning. Maybe they've installed carpeting. I'm really coming to resent the scaffolders.

Anyhow, tomorrow is going to be super hot, but maybe we'll get to sit at the bar for a change and be babied and smiled at and have fun the way we used to before it got to be such a thing. Maybe.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail