Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-06-09 - 7:19 p.m.

Everything last night was unexpected. At first it was just George, the Captain, and me, sitting around in skirts and laughing, and it turns out that girls really do gossip a lot. Eventually George's boyfriend showed up. He comes to take her home, which I think is sweet, but first he sits with us a while and we talk about how the night was. Sam surprisingly walked in at the end, so we stayed a while longer, and then there was the Older Mr. O'Connell, who I hadn't even known was in the country, but it turns out that he's been here all the time, and I just never know what's going on.

Somehow we ended up in the audience of a variety show, and the hostess looked at me and said, "I know you...," and it was true. Then there was a magic act and the Older Mr. O'Connell and I were the lovely assistants, and all we could do was smile across the stage at each other about how strange it was. Sometime after the ventriloquist act I slipped away to talk to Cape Cod, and then the Young Mr. O'Connell walked in, suited and tied, and I've missed him. Then there was Ellis, because there's always Ellis, but last night he had enthusiasm and possibly a new haircut. So, it was all very much, and did I mention that the whole world seems to know my name? I'm worming my way into hearts.

Today it's hot and I have to say no to the Egg and I'm not looking forward to it. On the sidewalk I saw a squirrel with a heartbreakingly scraggly tail eating a cupcake. I've been invited to two going away parties. Luckily only one of those going away is someone I'll really miss, but it's still too much. Now that Jackpot and I have sort of made up, I wish he were here to wander around with. I just saw a slip of paper with the words, "Judiciary Law," on it, and I think I'd like Jude Law more if that was his full name. I say too much and not enough at the same time, and how do I do that? I want to get a job on a transatlantic cruise ship, and just sail around for a few years, and maybe I will. I think I would take to a life at sea, and the only towns I'd ever find myself in are the seaside kind.

p.s. Waking up is not as easy as everyone assumes. I bruised my arm doing it this morning. Maybe we should have stayed asleep.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail