Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-06-13 - 7:00 p.m.

So, I guess it's gone summer. I know this because I can't remember the last time I wore pants and not a skirt. These days I just feel hot all the time and I like it, pushing my short sleeves up over my shoulders, dangling my bare legs over chair arms, taking showerlets before bed.

I haven't seen K. in forever because we are both jerks. I've been spending too much time with Sam, and I'm beginning to get tired of him, and then beginning to feel guilty about beginning to get tired of him. I worry I'm not a good enough friend. I should pay more attention to Michael, who is a fantastic friend. On Saturday night a group of us were packed into that small hot storefront and he gave me the nicest present. I'd been warned that there'd be a gift, but it was more thoughtful than I'd anticipated, and Michael's probably the only person who would know to get it for me. It is an autographed gift, a gift that compliments me by name.

Saturday was a good night, a triborough adventure night, with loud music and an unexpected drop-in from Francis, and my name broadcast over the internet radio, followed by, "don't be afraid," in the Egg's soothing voice. Everyone except for me was drinking whiskey, which led to everyone except for me was drunk, and it was more fun than I would have thought. We stood on the sidewalk afterwards playing the most ridiculous game and having too much fun with it, and that was only the end of the first part of the night, which was longer than it should have been. We saw the world's largest cat (the Captain kept insisting, "No, it's a lion!") and at three in the morning crazy M.A. was singing songs about me in the street, so we had to go into a bar to put an end to the ruckus. While inside a man said hello to me and called me by name, and he was a man that I don't recall ever seeing before in my life. So of course I pretended he was familiar and said, "Hi, what was your name again?" and he said it was Eddie, and I nodded and smiled, and I still have no idea. I'm surprised at me.

It was all sort of a lot, so yesterday I skipped everything and stayed indoors. It was a good move, and I think I'll do it again tonight. I like the stillness of it. Something bit my ankle the other night, something is making me quiet again. These are only related in that the somethings are unknown. My cat has been paying me extra attention these past few days. Do I always fall into a pile of barely related sentences at the end? It seems so.

p.s. I love your owl.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail