Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-09-04 - 4:40 p.m.

I met Sam and we went to the radio show and the Death Machine was there, but it was alright. The Captain arrived a while later. I thought she was gone on the bad trip I didn't go on, but she decided it would be bad too, so it's a good thing. The show was themed, and I didn't much care about some of it, but a good amount was fairly dreamy. I told the Egg, "Your show is like a time machine to before we were born," and his eyes lit up. Afterward someone's (I don't know whose) mysterious friend showed up, and when introduced to me said, "I know you. I've met you somehow, somewhere," but he couldn't tell me how or where. After a bit he seemed familiar too, but only in that way that people can seem familiar when you like them right away, when they fit immediately into your conversation and become the best part.

We stood around in the street for a thousand years deciding until eventually the Captain and Michael went home, the Egg, the Death Machine, and the mysterious friend went to J.C.'s bar for free drinks, and Sam and I went elsewhere, because no amount of free drinks could sway us. We got stools at the bar and the bartender remembered me from the time I sat there wanting to burst into flames or possibly tears. I left for a moment and when I came back Sam said, "I just had some Japanese whiskey and it was disgusting. Do you want to drink some with me?" So, of course I said yes. The Japanese whiskey tasted like five or six different things, one at a time, none of them good. In the end I felt vaguely like I'd been licking something old and leathery and I've had a headache all day, but I still think it was the right thing to do. I was nearly a champion, but not quite. I told Sam about fifteen pointless stories and he pretended to enjoy them because he likes me. We made a date to go to a movie this week. We probably won't, but sometimes it's just nice to make plans. I don't know, maybe we will.

Just before I had a nap, and it was worth it for the dreams, but I woke up too soon. When I realized I was beginning to wake up, I said, "Oh no," and I guess my own voice woke me up the rest of the way. Nearly a champion, but not quite.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail