Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2005-09-17 - 2:22 p.m.

I went to Target, where it's already Halloween. I agree with Target, the temperature is summer enough, but in my head it's been fall for days.

Somehow I've become an unwilling champion in the world of not sleeping. Even after the night I didn't sleep at all it was hard to fall asleep, but I think I've finally reached the point where it all falls apart. Last evening I took a three hour nap and when I woke up I couldn't figure out what day it was. I dreamt a dog was licking me and I wanted it to stop, but I didn't want to offend it or hurt its feelings. I dreamt that I saw Ian across the street and I wanted to run out and find him before he disappeared, but I was afraid I wouldn't make it in time. I can't remember whether I did. I dreamt it was someone's birthday and I was trying to slip away from the party, but it was hard to find a moment when no one was looking. Even after the nap I managed to sleep last night, and I slept for a thousand years. I feel better, all around.

Tonight I'm going to Danger's new place. I have directions, but I'm still not sure where it is. Probably Bushwick, because it seems that at some point everyone I know has or will live in Bushwick. It's where Sam lived when we were first getting to be friends, though I didn't know it at the time. I would get into Unix' car somewhere in Queens and get out somewhere in Brooklyn, and I'm the sort of passenger who likes to just enjoy the ride, paying attention to the faces and buildings we pass and ignoring the details of where and how. Sam's building was like an abandoned factory strung with Christmas lights, and his apartment had perfectly giant windows and walls they were building themselves. We would sit around on the floor listening to tapes and drinking beer, and it was nice until he and his roommate began to hate each other and Sam moved out before the walls were finished. Anyway, Danger lives alone and from the pictures she's shown me, her building is nothing like Sam's was. I guess it just reminded me. We're going to sit around talking to bones and then we're going to an "unpretentious bar," which probably means it will be dark and a little bit dirty, which sounds like an alright idea to me. I still feel weird about Danger, but I'm working on a new feeling, a feeling entitled, "Me and Danger, Best Friends Forever." I don't know, I slept for a thousand years last night, and even now my thoughts are all still sideways. Everything is still a little bit soft.

In a little while I'm going to try to read a bit, but I don't know how it will go. I haven't been able to read all week, and even before that I was only getting through a chapter at a time, every couple of days. I will never finish this book, and I can't even blame it. I like the book, I like reading it, but I keep getting restless about it anyway. Somehow, somehow, I feel as if starting to read right now will send me into another nap. After what felt like a year of barely sleeping my body wants all of those hours back and I'm going to go along with it. It seems like the least I could do. Maybe I'll have weather dreams, maybe I'll dream tonight before it happens.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail