Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2007-12-26 - 1:06 p.m.

I like to watch television, but I don't watch much of it on television, so I don't see that many commercials. Still, somehow, that Optimum Cable commercial gets me every time I turn the television on. I hate it! The number with which to order Optimum Cable is one of the few numbers I know by heart!

What made me think of television, and liking it, is that I have had a lot of little all over the place inconvenient stuff to do lately, errand and chorewise, and instead of feeling crabby about it I'm enjoying it. There is a sentence that pops into my head whenever I get all optimistic and all charged up to do something that might ordinarily seem like a hassle, "Tablemaking has never seemed so possible." Except slightly more exclamatory, and with a little wist. Television. I don't know, is this holiday spirit?

I started my New Year's resolving early this morning by not overdawdling and being only two minutes late, which for me lately is like being about twenty minutes early. I'm making plans and appointments for the eye doctor and the dentist. I organized my shoes. I've stopped carrying around a stupid book that I'm not ready to read yet and started carrying a stupid book that I am ready to read. Tomorrow I'm picking up book two, a boring book that will turn me into a computer, but see, I have to, and in the end I'll like it. I slouch in my chair all day, but I'll stop, even if it makes me worse at math. I will be nice to people, and mean it.

I just feel good. I ended up getting perfect Christmas gifts for the people I like the most. I've been getting a lot of exercise and sleep. I had a really good talk with Jackpot the other night. There are fundamental things I think that seem obvious and sensible to me, but it feels like the rest of the world wouldn't get it. I can say these things to Jackpot and he just firmly says, "Yes, I think so too," and it's not as though we developed these ideas together, we just found them in our bones. Sometimes I think if Jackpot didn't exist I would just walk around aghast all the time until it finally did me in. For my part, I had a thrilling idea and gave half of it to Jackpot, and I could feel him marveling through the phone.

By the time January gets here things are going to be so alright.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail