Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries now

2003-11-14 - 5:57 p.m.

Yesterday was pretty great, and the credit for that goes, almost entirely, to the wind. Yes, it was very, very windy. There was a point at which, while turning a corner, I felt for a moment that I might be blown into the street, which is a pretty neat feeling when you're reasonably certain that it won't actually happen. And it looked really good, all of the leaves swirling around. And it was really interesting to see plastic bags and newspaper whipping past the window nine stories up. What I couldn't understand, as I was walking home and trying to keep my hair from continuously flying into my eyes, was why there were people screaming. Because every once in a while there would be an especially strong gust, and people would actually scream. They weren't the sorts of screams that someone being stabbbed might produce (I could be wrong about this, as I've never actually witnessed a stabbing), but more like the screams you hear coming from roller coasters. Screams that suggest that the screamers are having the sort of fun that requires a lot of volume and a fairly high pitch to properly express. It's nice when the fact that a lot of people are unreasonable and loud works to entertain instead of annoy.

Additional credit for yesterday's greatness goes to the fact that I saw her again. This time she was sitting on the scooter's seat and pulling herself forward with one foot instead of using the motor. She was moving against the wind, intrepid as the day was long. Or maybe I should say intrepid as the day was short, as it was practically dark by three o'clock. Anyway, trotting alongside her was a little girl wearing pigtails and a school uniform. She had a huge smile on her face and was talking excitedly about something that I couldn't hear past my walkman. It was pretty good, seeing the two of them.

before - after

old | now | profile | mail